Wisconsin is officially a concealed carry state! As of today, November 1st, 2011, you are able to apply for your concealed carry license through the Department of Justice website.
The department of Justice issued an FAQ document to clarify parts of the law.
Important Documents Regarding ACT 35
Act 35 – Final Document
Open Carry Information
For those law-abiding citizens who choose to openly carry a firearm, either because they do not want to get a license to conceal their weapon or out of preference, it is very important that you understand the law and how it affects you while you’re carrying.
Interacting with law enforcement and nervous citizens may continue to be a challenge, but as the media hype and anti-gun predictions are shown to be false, we should hear less and less of the negatives and people will get used to seeing guns in public…unless you’re in Milwaulkee
Department of Justice – Law Enforcement
DNR Department of Natural Resources
Summary of Frequently Asked Questions
- What is required to get a license?
– Apply through the Wisconsin Department of Justice.
– At least 21 years old.
– Pass Background Check (NICS).
– Certified Training (DNR Hunter Safety, NRA, etc.).
– Pay the application fee.
- Can I still open carry now without a Concealed Carry License?
– Yes, open carry is still legal and doesn’t require a license
– You can have a loaded and uncased firearm in your vehicle, but it can NOT be concealed!
– Beware of the ‘Gun-Free School Zone’ (GFSZ) rules – driving just 1,000 feet from a school is a serious violation!
- Car Carry with a License?
– With a license you can have a loaded and concealed weapon in your car.
– With a license to carry, you are legally able to drive in a GFSZ, but NOT on school property.
– Make sure you know what is considered school property! A football field away from a school, but used or owned by the district maybe ‘school property’ and you could be in violation of state and federal law!
- What weapons can I carry with a Concealed Carry License?
– A weapon is a handgun, an electric weapon, a knife other than a switchblade knife, or a billy club.
– The list doesn’t include rifles or shotguns.
- Where are Guns not allowed pre-license?
(See Wisconsin Carry, Inc. The brochure above for specific WI statutes)
l. Post Offices, Government Buildings (City Halls), etc.
2. Schools or within 1000′ of a schools/school property
3. Inside your vehicle (see specific rules on car carry).
4. Restaurants that serves alcohol
5. State Parks & Fish Hachery
6. Any privately owned business or residence that has posted or verbally told you ‘no guns allowed.’
- Where are Guns not allowed post-license? Note: this list is not complete!
(See Act 35 above for complete list)
l. Post Offices, Police Stations, prisons, jails, etc.
2. – a. Without a license – Schools or within 1000′ of a school/school property.
2. – b. With a license Schools or school property. (1,000′ ban is lifted with a license)
3. Any privately owned business or residence that has posted or verbally told you ‘no guns allowed.’
4. Beyond the security checkpoint at an airport.
5. Public & Government Buildings – if posted or verbally told you ‘no guns allowed.’
- If I’m a Wisconsin resident and have a permit from another state, can I carry in Wisconsin without getting a license?
– NO, you must get a Wisconsin Resident’s license.
- How long are the licenses good for?